Benton · Sunscreen

Review: Benton Papaya-D Sun Cream SPF38 PA+++

A couple of weeks ago, Benton put out a post on Instagram inviting bloggers to apply to receive their new Papaya-D Sun Cream for review. I was one of the lucky bloggers selected! It shipped so quickly; I received my email on Wednesday early AM (2:53AM to be exact), the ship notice came Wednesday at 5:45AM, and the product was in my hands on Thursday around 4PM via DHL. Colour me impressed!

Benton Cosmetics sent the Papaya-D Sun Cream in exchange for my honest review.
Benton Cosmetics sent the Papaya-D Sun Cream in exchange for my honest review, but also included some foil packets of their other products!

As you can see, Benton was kind enough to send me not just the Sun Cream for review, but also a few foil packets, including their eye cream (I’m still searching for an eye cream to love) and their new Cacao Moist and Mild Cream that I’ve seen reviews of on Instagram! I was so excited to receive this package!

About Benton Cosmetics:
Benton’s Brand Statement: Take a journey back in time with Benton. Freshly made products and healthy ingredients.

Did you know that Benton was inspired by the movie “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”? This product is not my first Benton product, but I did not know this before receiving the package and reading the little review guide that came along with it! Benton is a cruelty-free brand that sticks to small batch productions in order to provide freshly made products to their customers.

Benton Papaya-D Sun Cream SPF38 PA+++
Benton Papaya-D Sun Cream SPF38 PA+++

About the Benton Papaya-D Sun Cream SPF38 PA+++ (50g):
The Papaya-D Sun Cream is made of physical and chemical sunscreen agents, and is designed to protect the skin from everyday UVs. It contains Papaya Fruit Water, Papaya Fruit Extract, as well as Papaya Seed Oil (highlighted in blue text in the ingredient list below). Papaya is rich in vitamins that help the skin stay moist and vibrant, and papaya also contains polyphenols and minerals. It also contains Papain, which is effective in pore care, controlling sebum, and dead skin cells. Papaya Seed Oil helps to make the skin supple and smooth, as well as aid the skin in retaining moisture. The sunscreen also contains niacinamide and adenosine, promising to help the skin achieve a bright and smooth complexion.

Ingredients:
Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Water (55%), Titanium Dioxide, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Isoamyl p-Methoxycinnamate, Glycerin, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Pentylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Glyceryl Stearate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Aluminum Hydroxide, Panthenol, Carica Papaya Seed Oil (5000ppm), Glyceryl Caprylate, Stearic Acid, Water, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Xanthan Gum, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract (750ppm), Tocopherol, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate,Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Xylitylglucoside, Anhydroxylitol, Xylitol, Papain(100ppm), Propanediol, Adenosine, Sodium Gluconate, Disodium Adenosine Triphosphate, Algin, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Bud Extract, Glucose, Juniperus Communis Fruit Oil, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Oil

Claims:
This Papaya-D Sun Cream is meant to protect the skin, have a moist texture, and both nourish and moisturize the skin. It is advertised as sun protection and skin care ‘at the same time’. This product is recommended for skin that is exposed to various UVs and wants protection from both UVA and UVB rays, skin that lacks suppleness, and skin that wants a moist sunscreen with minimal white cast.

So far, it sounds like the perfect sunscreen for my dry skin! But of course, the product had to be put to the test. The first thing I noticed, even before putting the product on, was that the SPF was a bit lower than the more common cult favourite sunscreens. This isn’t quite a deal breaker for me personally, since I don’t spend a ton of time outside. I do apply sunscreen in the morning for my drive in to work though! I would not consider using this sun screen if I know I’m spending a longer period outdoors.

Smells lightly of papaya mixed with sun cream. I expected a little more papaya.
Smells lightly of papaya mixed with sun cream. I expected a little more papaya.

In terms of scent, you really have to deliberately sniff to catch a whiff of anything. This was fine by me though, as I’m not a fan of overly-fragranced products. As you can see, the sunscreen is not the watery kind and looks almost a little thick.

The sun cream spreads easily and while it doesn't the watery type of sunscreen, it is super lightweight.
The sun cream spreads easily and while it doesn’t the watery type of sunscreen, it is super lightweight.

Despite the way it looks right out of the tube, the product spreads easily and is super lightweight. It absorbed quickly for my dry skin, and did not leave behind any kind of a sticky finish. It played well with the variety of skincare products I put on before hand, and I did not experience any pilling at all during application of the sun cream. There was no pilling afterwards, either! It certainly felt like a moisturizer during application…with the exception of the white cast.

No sticky finish whatsoever, but if you are even slightly generous in your application, the white cast becomes very obvious.
No sticky finish whatsoever, but if you are even slightly generous in your application, the white cast becomes very obvious.

I am relatively fair, and I found that if you are generous in the application of this sun screen, it does leave a noticeable white cast. I know that this may be desirable for some people, but for me personally, it seemed to highlight my dark under eyes, especially the first day I used this since my allergies were absolutely crazy and made my under eye area look extra dark. A few hours later, I noticed that my t-zone was a bit on the shiny side compared to usual. A little bit of blotting did the trick but the rest of my face was fine.

As someone who sits inside an office all day, this sunscreen worked well for me, white cast aside. It didn’t feel heavy, nor did it feel like I had an extra layer of something on my skin that I wasn’t used to. Since the whether has been relatively mild due to the abundance of rain we’ve had, I didn’t experience the product breaking up or ‘melting’ off my face.

It layers well underneath my concealer and BB cushion, but again, left my t-zone shiny after a while. Although I wouldn’t go so far as to say that this turned me into an oily grease ball, I would say that this probably isn’t suitable for those with oily skin, nor is it suitable for those who are not a fan of the dewy look.

When I put on a bit less product, someone complimented that my skin looked a little brighter. However, it was less suncream than recommended for application! Overall, I’d rate this a 6.5/10. The price sits at $20 but the SPF is on the low end. The white cast for me, as well as the oily result after some time, are the main cons for my personal preference. But, I do have to give kudos to Benton for the feel of the product; it applies super well, is so lightweight, and is even moisturizing for my dry skin!

Did you have a chance to try this product out? Or do you have a holy grail sunscreen to recommend to me? I keep thinking about those sunscreen compacts for easy re-application for my drive home from work, but those contain significantly less product, and so far, the ones I’ve seen also seem to leave a white cast!

Disclaimer: I received this product courtesy of Benton Cosmetics in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

Leave a Reply

