Bi-Weekly Mask Review · Sheet Masks · Uncategorized

Bi-Weekly Sheetmask Reviews – April 17-April 30, 2017

We’re into May now, and the weather is still really cool. It almost feels abnormally cool, sitting at around a high of 11*C (50*F) on average this week! How’s the weather where you are?

Bi-Weekly April 17 - April 30 Main Image
Bi-Weekly April 17 – April 30 Masks featuring Akuma, Skin79, L’Herboflore, and Kose Clear Turn

I had really high hopes for these masks because I’d seen pretty positive reviews for some of these. I knew I would like the L’Herboflore (although I worried about a strong floral scent as I’m really sensitive to those) and the Skin79 Glacial Water Mask surprised me!

Kose Clear Turn Moisturizing Mask
Kose Clear Turn Moisturizing Mask

Who & What: Kose Clear Turn Moisturizing Mask
Purpose: Moisturizing
Stars: 2/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: This mask was a bit of a disappointment for me. The instructions say you should leave the mask on for 10 minutes, but parts of the mask was dry before the ten minutes was up! I would be okay with this if it meant my dry skin was drinking up the essence but honestly, the mask didn’t do much for me. It was lightly (very light) moisturizing, and that was about it.

However, the fit was really uncomfortable. The mask had three slits on either side, plus one down the middle of the chin. The mask was long and the nose strip in particular was incredibly long while the mask was not wide at all. I know the slits are meant to customize the fit to your face but I just could not get this to sit right on my face! The mask was also folded strangely so I pretty much touched the whole mask trying to unfold it to apply to my face.

Some pros though, include a mostly scentless experience for those of us who are really sensitive to strong fragrances, and the finish was not tacky.

Kose Clear Turn Vitamin C Whitening Mask
Kose Clear Turn Vitamin C Whitening Mask

Who & What: Kose Clear Turn Vitamin C Whitening Mask
Purpose: Brightening
Stars: 3/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: See above review for fit description; this mask just does not work for my face! Once again, this masked dried very quickly in the ten minutes that the mask is supposed to last. It wasn’t very moisturizing.

HOWEVER. In just ten minutes, the brightening effect was incredibly obvious on my face. You could clearly see where the mask sat on my skin! It left my skin brighter even until the next morning. But as a personal preference, for my dry skin, I can’t see myself repurchasing this mask just for the brightening results and not much else.

Both of the Kose masks left me wanting to put on another sheetmask on!

Skin79 Fresh Garden Glacial Water Mask
Skin79 Fresh Garden Glacial Water Mask

Who & What: Skin79 Fresh Garden Glacial Water Mask
Purpose: Moisturize and Hydrate
Stars: 8/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: I really enjoyed this mask! First, the packaging is matte and is quite cute! The mask was just a tad short on the forehead and the material wasn’t overly thick, so it was very comfortable on the face and adhered really well. There’s a very light fragrance to this mask that dissipates after a bit, and the packet does not hold a lot of essence once you remove the mask.

I had this mask on for about thirty minutes. It had dried in some areas within that time but was mostly still damp especially around the forehead and cheekbone areas. The mask didn’t do much for redness reduction in my cheeks, but after patting in the essence, my skin was plump and nicely moisturized. It had a very nice, non-sticky finish and I woke up the next day to soft, moisturized skin! I haven’t seen too much of this brand though…has anyone seen or tried other flavours of this brand or line?

L'Herboflore Cherry Blossom Whitening Mask
L’Herboflore Cherry Blossom Whitening Mask

Who & What: L’Herboflore Cherry Blossom Whitening Mask
Purpose: Brightening
Stars: 9/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: I’ve yet to be disappointed by a L’Herboflore mask! The really pretty packaging always makes me happy and the masking experience itself is always fantastic. This mask, like other L’Herboflore masks, is very thin and soaked in essence. A little bit of stretching allows me to arrange the mask on my face for a wider fit (ear to ear!) without sacrificing the nose area…by that, I mean without ‘tenting’ around the sides of the nose.

I was a bit worried that the scent may be overwhelming. While the floral scent does linger throughout the use of the mask, it wasn’t overly strong. There’s another teaspoon of essence left in the packet. I left the mask on for about thirty minutes and upon removal, the brightening effects were really noticeable. The mask evened out my skin tone, and reduced the redness in my cheeks. I’d highly recommend using this mask before an event!

There was a lot of essence left on my face when I removed the mask but once I pat it in, the finish was not sticky. While a little better in terms of moisturizing results compared to the Kose Clear Turn Vitamin C Whitening Mask, my skin was still a bit dry so I did finish my routine with a nice moisturizer. If you enjoy thin masks with a little bit of a floral scent, definitely give this one a try! You can pick this one up at Beautibi.com! I also really like the L’Herboflore Pear Nourishing HydroMask!

Akuma 120% Hydrating Mask
Akuma 120% Hydrating Mask

Who & What: Akuma 120% Hydrating Mask
Purpose: Moisturize and Hydrate
Stars: 6.5/10
Repurchase: Maybe

Comments: Fair warning, the essence will drip off this mask! The mask was soaked with essence that smells generically of skincare products, and the mask material was very thin. There’s a backing to support the mask and the fit was really nice for my face although the eyes were just a tad too close. There’s only a bit of essence left in the packet.

It was strange that it felt like the essence was sliding down the mask to collect around the chin area. The forehead area looked dry by twenty-five minutes in but the rest of the mask was still soaked. When I took the mask off, I squeezed out the essence out of curiousity and ended up with a full palmful of essence that I slathered onto my arms.

The mask makes some pretty strong claims about hydrating the skin and also locking in the moisture deep into your skin. Despite the amount of essence this mask had though, and despite the essence absorbing very nicely into the skin with a bit (or a lot) of patting, I wasn’t totally blown away. I was expecting a great post masking glow and for my skin to feel really chok chok! Alas, that wasn’t the case. I don’t remember how much this mask was, but I might repurchase it if it was on a really good deal.

So that’s it, another bi-weekly Sheetmask roundup! This blog post is late due to my getting sick, but it’s here now! Who else loves L’Herboflore masks? I think I need to give the ‘clinical’ line a test, too! But first, I still need to work on reducing my stash. My biggest (first world) problem is that I have so many singles that I don’t want to use them up! Anyone else have this problem?

Disclaimer: Masks were purchased on my own or received from a giveaway. All thoughts and opinion are honest, and my own.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

Leave a Reply

