Bi-Weekly Mask Review · Sheet Masks · Uncategorized

Bi-Weekly Sheetmask Reviews – March 20-April 16, 2017

This is way overdue and obviously isn’t a ‘bi-weekly’ review, but it literally took me four weeks to use five masks. My skin has been doing pretty well despite the drastic yo-yoing temperatures. Aside from my usual dry skin, I’ve been finding that I keep getting little whiteheads on the nose. However, my cheeks and forehead have mostly been clear, for which I have been thankful! As a result, I haven’t tested a ton of products lately. There’s a wedding to attend in four weeks so I’m hoping my skin will stay clear!

Bi-Weekly Mar 20 - Apr 16 Main Image
Bi-Weekly Mar 20 – Apr 16 Mask featuring Tony Moly, Beauty Friends, A’Pieu, Goodal, and Ariul

I had high hopes for three of these masks and they only turned out so-so, which was rather unfortunate. I’m on the hunt for the next magical mask. You know, the type that makes you want to fill a bathtub with the mask and ‘swim’ in it? Is that just me?

Anyway, let’s move on with this already late review!

Ariul Seven Days Bamboo Water Mask
Ariul Seven Days Bamboo Water Mask

Who & What: Ariul 7 Days Mask (Bamboo Water)
Purpose: Hydrate and Moisturize
Stars: 6.5/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: These masks are small around the eyes, and bunch up around the chin area, so they really don’t adhere that well for me. Compared to the Avocado Mask though, this Bamboo mask provided more hydration. The mask had a light, refreshing scent but doesn’t house much more essence in the packet.

There isn’t much to say about this mask, to be honest. I picked it up on a 1+1 deal in Korea so it was cheap, but there are other ‘penny’ masks for the same deal on the market that perform similarly with a better masking experience (I’m referring to fit here). There are also some that perform better! I think these Ariul 7 Days masks may be good to throw on if you’re in a rush and can’t fully relax for a pampering session, but still want a little bit of added hydration.

Beauty Friends Tomato Mask Pack
Beauty Friends Tomato Mask Pack

Who & What: Beauty Friends Tomato Maskpack
Purpose: Moisturize
Stars: 1/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: I received this mask free with a purchase and it definitely smells like tomatoes! The scent lingers for a long time though, so for someone like me who doesn’t love tomatoes, it’s actually a little nauseating. The fit is narrow with an overly long nose strip, and is also quite short. Though the mouth fit well, the chin area bunched up.

Mean to deeply moisturize, the mask packaging says that the natural plant extracts would help with the absorption of the mask essence. Unfortunately, for my dry skin, after twenty five minutes I found this mask was not moisturizing for me at all. There wasn’t any stick finish but even after patting in the remaining essence, my face felt almost dry. I had to layer on cream as well as a sleeping pack.

There was a hint of brightening effect though, but for a mask that is meant to deeply moisturize the skin, I was sorely disappointed. Coupled with the poor fit for me, and the strong, lingering tomato scent, I would not repurchase this.

Tony Moly Pureness 100 Shea Butter Mask
Tony Moly Pureness 100 Shea Butter Mask

Who & What: Tony Moly Pureness 100 Shea Butter Mask
Purpose: Moisturizing
Stars: 3/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: I really like shea butter sheetmasks for extra hydration for my dry skin, especially when the weather is yo-yoing, meaning the heat is blasting, then off, then blasting again! I’ve tried some shea butter masks that I really enjoy, but unfortunately, this was not one of them. I expect shea butter masks to give my skin a good boost in moisture. This one didn’t cut it.

The fit was on the narrow side but the material itself was very soft and comfortable. It’s a cotton material so there are brown flecks throughout the mask, don’t be alarmed! The chin area did not adhere well for me. Why can’t my chin get any sheetmasking love?

The mask wasn’t memorable at all. It was comfortable why it lasted, but didn’t do much. I would rather use the Innisfree one, which is highly recommended by @littleemptybottles!

A'Pieu Green Tea Milk Soothing Mask
A’Pieu Green Tea Milk Soothing Mask

Who & What: A’Pieu Green Tea Milk One-Pack
Purpose: Soothing
Stars: 7/10
Repurchase: Likely not

Comments: I can’t get over the packaging for these masks (and price)! These may be my favourite packaging so far, it’s just so cute! I loved the Milk version of this mask and I had high hopes for this mask. I find the material to be very comfortable, with a long and wide fit that works well for my face! Only the nose area isn’t the best, but I can live with that. This mask is on the fragrant side though, with a lingering scent that lasts even after the mask has been removed. I’m not a fan of this.

The mask has a creamy essence and lasted 40 minutes. I love the results from this ₩1,000 mask! My face was brighter and redness was gone from my cheeks. But, I would prefer a more hydrating mask (like the Milk one). For this one, I had to layer on moisturizer afterwards. Given how much I like the other scents though, despite the great soothing results from this ‘penny’ mask, I would likely not repurchase it.

Goodal Water Full Firming Mask
Goodal Water Full Firming Mask

Who & What: Goodal Water Full Mask
Purpose: Firming, nourishing, moisturizing
Stars: 7/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: Easily the favourite out of the five in this group. The packaging of this mask really caught my eye! Although meant to be a firming mask, the mask does read “the water-full mask moisturizes skin [collagen]”. This mask does contain alcohol as the fifth ingredient. Sea water is eighth, and hydrolyzed collagen and soluble collagen are ninth and tenth in the list.

The mask fit so well for me, compared to the other masks reviewed in this post! The texture is really nice and comfortable and the mask was able to stretch just a little bit to get a wider fit. The fragrance doesn’t linger at all.

As a personal preference, I do enjoy longer masking session, which this mask did not provide. It dried fairly quickly in the center of the mask (nose and strip below the nose) but the cheek area was still really damp! I took the mask off after thirty minutes and patted in the remaining essence. The mask moisturized my skin and reduced redness for me. My skin looked a lot brighter too! I didn’t notice any firming results, but I did like the moisturizing and soothing results a lot. I heard there were other varieties available, and I think I’ll eventually get around to trying them. The Goodal brand has been of interest to me for some time, but I really need to clear my stash before I can consider trying it!

As of right now, you can get these Goodal Water Full masks at Rose Rose Shop! They’re normally ₩10,000 for 10 pcs but at this moment, they’re on sale for just ₩5,000!

I wonder if part of the reason I haven’t been masking much is because so many masks have been duds for me lately. I need to make better choices! However, I don’t regret trying these masks; you never know if you don’t try, right? After all, everyone’s skin reacts differently. I’m just hoping the next new ones will have more GREAT masks and fewer duds!

Disclaimer: Masks were purchased on my own or received as a gift with purchase. All thoughts and opinion are honest, and my own.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

Leave a Reply

