Bi-Weekly Mask Review · Sheet Masks

Bi-Weekly Sheetmask Reviews – March 6-March 19, 2017

I need a bathtub full of the A’pieu Skin Fit Honey Mask. Seriously. Stat. The mask was so good and was so affordable and I only have one left which I must now hoard forever!

Bi-Weekly March 6 - March 19, 2017 Masks
Bi-Weekly March 6 – March 19, 2017 Masks Featuring A’Pieu, Combos Skin, Tsiao, My Beauty Diary, and Danchae

I’m really not impressed with the My Beauty Diary mask fit. It’s just too small for my face, and I’ve never really felt like my face was incredibly BIG. It really sucks, because the masks do perform well. I’m also a bit sad that I’ve yet to find a snail mask that isn’t overly fragranced. Why does it have to have such a strong scent?

My Beauty Diary Strawberry Yogurt Mask
My Beauty Diary Strawberry Yogurt Mask

Who & What: My Beauty Diary Strawberry Yogurt Mask
Purpose: Nourish and brighten the skin, even out skin tone, and balance the skin
Stars: 7/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: What’s with the My Beauty Diary masks being so small? Did my face get significantly bigger than it used to be, or what? This mask has a delicious strawberry yogurt scent which made me feel super hungry, but the mask itself was so small that I was disappointed in my pampering session. In order to get the nose and mouth area to fit, the eyes came down super low.

The mask performs very well and did brighten up my skin. You can see where the mask did, or did not reach on my face! My skin was lightly moisturized; not enough to skip moisturizer or a sleeping pack, but a little moisturized. The mask did even out my skin tone and my complexion still looked good in the morning after. But since the mask is just too small for my face, I would not purchase it again.

Combos Skin Brightening Dual Booster Mask
Combos Skin Brightening Dual Booster Mask

Who & What: Combos Skin Brightening Dual Booster Mask
Purpose: Brightening
Stars: 6/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: This mask was highly recommended by the sales associate in the Sasa of Hong Kong. I trusted her not just because she was recommending the product, but because she is friends with my cousin and frequently offers her recommendations of products my cousins ends up liking. The Banila Co The Black 17 Sleeping Pack I previously reviewed was also her recommendation!

Unfortunately, this mask falls short on meeting my expectations. There is a fair amount of ampoule in the Step 1 of the mask, which has a generic lotion/skincare scent. It’s supposed to be an anti-oxidant, skin-whitening essence. The second step, which is the mask itself, is a super comfortable, cotton-like mask that has a wide fit and is slightly short on the forehead. I left the mask on for about 30 minutes as some areas were beginning to dry.

The finish wasn’t stick at all; however, I didn’t see much in terms of brightening results. The mask did left my skin a little moisturized, but for a brightening mask, I expected to see a pretty big difference on my skin. However, the MBD Strawberry Yogurt mask above performs much better than this one, so I wouldn’t get it again.

Danchae Nutrition Moisturizing Snail Mask
Danchae Nutrition Moisturizing Snail Mask

Who & What: Danchae Nutrition Moisturizing Snail Mask
Purpose: Nourish and Moisturize
Stars: 7/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: The fragrance in this mask pretty much punched me in the face. The entire time I had this on, I was tempted to take it off because the scent was just so overwhelming for me!

This mask is super slippery out of the packet due to the snail extract, which is the fourth ingredient in the list. It made the mask a little hard to unfold since the material is also quite thin. Overall the fit was only okay for me, since the mask was not very wide and the nose strip was quite short. But the thin material meant it adhered really well!

Although there’s a ton of essence left over in the packet, I couldn’t bring myself to use it due to the scent.

In terms of performance though, this mask was fantastic. In just thirty minutes, which was the max amount of time I could handle the fragrance, it left my skin brighter, hydrated, and super chok chok. There’s a clear post-masking glow to my face and my skin was soft and plump. Even the redness in my cheeks was slightly reduced.

I’m just not destined to find a snail mask that works well, which is unscented, or at least, just lightly scented! I really liked the results too, so I’m a bit disappointed.

Tsiao Green Tea Whitening Mask
Tsiao Green Tea Whitening Mask

Who & What: Tsiao Green Tea Whitening Mask
Purpose: Whitening (Brightening)
Stars: 6/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: This mask smells deliciously of green tea, and not in an overly fragranced way! The incredibly thin silk fibre mask adhered incredibly well but be careful; it does tear easily…or I am just too rough in adjusting the mask on my face. In any case, it fit my face well, much better than the My Beauty Diary masks I’ve used lately.

However, despite the pleasant masking experience itself, I didn’t see any brightening results. Overall, I felt like my skin tone was slightly evened out, and the mask was only lightly hydrating. But I’ve used many other masks that have much more obvious brightening effects, even if the effects are temporary. I was a bit disappointed, seeing as how the rest of the masking experience was great. If it was more hydrating, and the price were right, I’d be willing to forego the brightening effects and pick this up to use it again, but unfortunately, my skin may just be too dry.

A'Pieu My Skin Fit Honey Sheet Mask
A’Pieu My Skin Fit Honey Sheet Mask

Who & What: A’Pieu My Skin Fit Honey Sheet Mask
Purpose: B
Stars: 9.5/10*
Repurchase: Yes, I need a drawer FULL.

*I fell asleep with this mask on so it was on my face longer than I normally would have left it. As a result, I’m not sure if the slightly-less-than-optimal hydrating results were due to the mask’s performance, or my letting the mask dry, so this rating may change when I try this mask again.

Comments: If you love the Papa Recipe Honey Bombee Mask (the original one) as much as I do, then you’ve got to try this mask out. The lyocell material is incredibly thin and thus, adheres very well. The mask is soaked in essence with a little teaspoon left in the packaging. The mask fit me so well from hairline down the chin and ear to ear with only the nose strip being slightly too narrow. Some may find the mask large as a result. The mask has a honey scent that I love.

The finish wasn’t sticky and as mentioned in my note above, I did fall asleep with this mask on so I’m not sure whether it’s my fault or the mask’s performance that my skin did not feel as hydrated as I would have liked. Still, it left my skin brightened and redness reduced around the cheeks. We’ve had some pretty gusty winds and cold weather so I really needed some soothing hydration. This mask provided the soothing for sure!

The best part of this mask, compared to the Papa Recipe Honey Bombee Mask? It only cost me 1,000W. That’s right, that’s all it cost! It’s super affordable and now I’ll have to find a way to stock up on them when I clear through some of my stash. Unfortunately, the back of the package only indicates “Main Ingredients: Honey Extract (6,000 ppm), Caviar Extract” and nothing else. If you are incredibly ingredient-conscious, then please be sure to look up further information before trying this. For the record, the Papa Recipe mask contains 1,000 ppm of honey extract.

What do you think? Are there any masks here that you love, or would love to try? If you can find the A’pieu mask, I’d definitely encourage you to try it if the price is right. I’m pretty impressed with this brand so far, and their Air Fit XP cushion is my current favourite! Do you have any brands you love, and would recommend for me to try?

Disclaimer: Masks were purchased on my own. All thoughts and opinion are honest, and my own.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

Leave a Reply

