Bi-Weekly Mask Review · Review · Sheet Masks

Bi-Weekly Sheetmask Reviews – February 6-February 19, 2017

It’s been a super busy couple of weeks for me both in personal and work life. Luckily, I’ve been able to find some pampering time here and there and still use some sheetmasks for some quality me time. I was particularly excited about one of these masks below!

bi-weekly-feb-6-feb-19-main
Bi-Weekly February 6 – February 19 Masks featuring Dr. Jart+, Nature Republic, Lovemore, Acwell, and The Saem

I ended up with two ‘whitening’ masks this time, but neither performed exceptionally well for me in a brightening sense. I’ve had other masks perform better, and they don’t even list ‘whitening’ as one of their purposes! So it was a little bit of a let down, but no matter! It just means I can keep trying more masks!

Acwell Rice Whitening Mask
Acwell Rice Whitening Mask

Who & What: Acwell Rice Brightening Mask
Purpose: Brightening
Stars: 7.5/10
Repurchase: Yes, if on a 1+1!

Comments: While I’m okay with masks that have a thicker material, I’m not a fan of masks with a textured pattern on it. I don’t find that they do anything to better the mask (at least, I haven’t come across one) but I don’t like the ones that leave the pattern imprinted to my face even for a short few minutes! Luckily, this mask did not leave any imprints on my face. The mask smells a little like sake? Only vaguely. It has eye flaps that I smoothed down under my eyes and I love the extra wide fit of the mask!

Despite the thick material, adherence was pretty good to begin with even if the edges did dry really early on. There’s only a little bit of essence left, but this did not leave a sticky finish. It left my face bright and hydrated after a forty five minute masking session! I would possibly pick this up again if it were on a 1+1 deal. In terms of a brightening mask though, I’ve used others that have worked better for me!

nature-republic-bamboo
Nature Republic Real Nature Bamboo Mask

Who & What: Nature Republic Real Nature Mask in Bamboo
Purpose: Moisture
Stars: 8/10
Repurchase: Yes, if on sale!

Comments: This is the first sheetmask that was BIG on my face. I guess my face is pretty big; either that, or I expect masks to cover a wider fit but they frequently do not! The mask does contain both alcohol as well as fragrance and it is scented like a generic skincare product. There is no essence left in the packet.

I used the mask for forty minutes and it hydrated my face really well! It likely could have lasted longer, but I was so tired I took it off to go to bed. It did not leave any sticky finish and overall, I found my skin tone to be more even. There definitely was some sheetmask glow to it.

Originally, I rated this a 7.5 but I’ve updated this to an 8/10 because I woke up with an even skin tone as well, although my skin was not as hydrated as I would have liked. Still, for the price I got these for (9,600W on a 10+10!) this is a pretty big win for me!

The Saem Pure Natural Mask Sheet in Ginseng
The Saem Pure Natural Mask Sheet in Ginseng

Who & What: The Saem Pure Natural Mask Sheet in Ginseng
Purpose: Nourish the skin
Stars: 4/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: Much like the Snail mask, this mask had a bad fit for me. The mask doesn’t sit well due to having too many slits around, and the edges dried very quickly. Even the abnormally thin strip between the nose and upper lip dried quickly. The mask did smell like ginseng, but overall, the mask was a flop for me. It dried so quickly! The finish wasn’t sticky and my skin’s tone was just slightly more even and a little brighter. However, for someone with dry skin like me, it just wasn’t enough moisture! I do have one more, so I’ll save it for a more humid summer day rather than this super dry winter time!

Lovemore Wine Yeast Whitening Mask Sheet
Lovemore Wine Yeast Whitening Mask Sheet

Who & What: Lovemore Wine Yeast Mask
Purpose: Brightening
Stars: 6/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: What a thin mask with a long fit! It reached from forehead to under my chin, and even the nose strip was long! The lip area was strange; it was just a little bit of a slit so I had to stretch it a little to make it a comfortable fit.

The mask adhered well with it’s thin material! It lasted about 30 minutes for me. My skin tone looked more even but for a brightening mask, this was disappointed. There wasn’t a lot of essence left in either the packet or on my face upon removal. The mask overall wasn’t hydrating enough for me so I had to layer on a sleeping pack. Face was still quite even in the morning but it was nothing particularly fancy or outstanding. I didn’t hate it, but I also wouldn’t buy it again.

dr-jart-vital-hydra-solution

Who & What: Dr. Jart+ Vita Hydra Solution
Purpose: Deep Hydration
Stars: 9.5/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: This splurge mask absolutely BLEW me away. Long story short, the only reason that this masks loses half a point is because the nose area doesn’t sit right for me and the nose strip is a bit on the long side. But WOW. The material was super thin and the fit from top to bottom and side to side was just perfect for me. The essence in this packet is a bit more viscous and clings to the sides of the packet, but there was enough between that, and the pearl backing, for me to cover my arms and legs.

It was such a good masking experience! I was able to leave the mask on for about 45 or 50 minutes. It was a bit cold too, so I’m sure the mask had some cooling effect for me as well. The adherence was excellent on this mask and upon removal, the finish was not sticky at all and my face felt super plump. It was as if someone had injected a tone of hydration under my skin. I layered sleeping mask on some particularly dry areas for me (cheeks by the nose and on the forehead between the eyebrows). It made it a little bit sticky, but tolerable.

I woke up to plump skin! I have a couple left and I think I may save them for nights before special occasions! Will have to buy more of these in the future for sure!

As expected, out of these five masks, the Dr. Jart+ was the one that blew me away. I was a bit worried that the hype for these masks might be a bit much and I’d be let down, but nope! I loved it! The others, not so much, unfortunately, with the exception of the Nature Republic one if only because of the price point. I’m happy that I have a ton more masks to try out! Now, I just have to get over my hoarder instincts and actually USE the singles!

Disclaimer: Masks were purchased on my own. All thoughts and opinion are honest, and my own.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

Leave a Reply

