Cleansers · Review · Samples

Sponsored Review: Pur-Lisse Blue Lotus 4-in-1 Cleansing Milk

Disclaimer: I received the Pur-Lisse Blue Lotus 4-in-1 Cleansing Milk from Amabie.com as a part of their ABSweethearts Program, in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are honest, and my own.

Purlisse Blue Lotus 4-in-1 Cleansing Milk
Purlisse Blue Lotus 4-in-1 Cleansing Milk

About the Brand Pur-Lisse
Pur-Lisse stands for ‘pure’ and ‘smooth’ in French and the brand is meant to be a marriage of Asian Beauty and advanced French skin technology. The brand promises to deliver results and radiance to the skin with their products, and was created by actress Jennifer Yen, known for being a Power Ranger (so cool!) and more.

My Skin Type:
I have dry skin almost year-round. Only in the summer time do I suffer from an oily t-zone when it is super humid out, or if I use make up products not suitable for my skin. I struggle with dry patches and hyper-pigmentation from occasional hormonal acne.

First thoughts:
I’ve never tried anything from Pur-Lisse before, and I was eager to test this Blue Lotus 4-in-1 Cleansing Milk out. This creamy, almost emulsion-like cleanser smells a little like citrus to me, but it doesn’t have an overwhelming fragrance that bothers me; in fact, the scent is refreshing in the morning! I don’t wear make up on a daily basis, so this is sufficient for me as a morning and evening cleanser. However, when I do wear make up, I prefer to use an oil cleanser as a first cleanse.

It’s recommended that you apply this to a damp face if you’re not using it to remove make up. This cleansing milk does not foam up and has a lot of slip to it. I seem to find myself rinsing more than usual, to ensure that the cleanser is absolutely gone from my face.

Product Description:
Here’s the description for the Blue Lotus 4-in-1 Cleansing Milk from the website: Blue Lotus cleansing milk fused with Soy Milk, Whole Oat and White Tea is a gentle, soap & sulfate free cleanser that washes away dirt, impurities & makeup in 1 simple step.  This soothing multi-tasker leaves skin pure and clean without stripping skin of its natural oils.

The cleansing milk is sulfate and soap free and is meant to tone and soothe the skin. It’s supposed to be suitable for all skin types, but take note! CosDNA flags Laureth-4 as a acne trigger with a number 4 warning. It does not flag Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, which is a coconut oil derivative. If you’re sensitive to coconut-oil, steer clear!

Features & Benefits:
The product highlights 4 ingredients with key features and benefits:

  1. Blue Lotus (anti-inflammatory, combats against free radical damage) – Nymphaea Coerulea Flower Extract, 15th in the ingredient list
  2. White Tea (rejuvenates skin) – Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, 14th in the ingredient list. Purlisse let me know that Camellia Sinesis Leaf Extract is derived from green, black, and white tea and it is white tea in this product.
  3. Soy Milk (maintains skin elasticity with rich amino acids) – Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, 9th in th eingredient list
  4. Whole Oat (calms and soothes sensitive skin) – Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernal Extract, 13th in the ingredient list

I had to do some research (and ask the brand) to make sure that I was pointing out the right ingredients, since they aren’t easy to identify for someone less familiar with ingredients. The key ingredients are not at the top of the list.

Ingredient list (from the Purlisse.com website):
Water (Aqua), Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, Acrylates Copolymer, Neopentyl Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Tridecyl Stearate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Polysorbate 80, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Hydrolyzed Lupine Protein Octenylsuccinate, Alaria Esculenta Extract, Butylene Glycol, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Nymphaea Coerulea Flower Extract, Methyl Gluceth-20, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Glycerin, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Laureth-4, Tridecyl Trimellitate, Carbomer, Aminomethyl Propanol, Disodium EDTA, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Limonene, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Cymbopogon Martini Oil, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Juniperus Mexicana Oil, Tagetes Minuta Flower Oil, Michelia Alba Flower Oil.

My Experience & Review
I’m happy to report that this cleanser feels gentle on my skin, and has not resulted in any breakouts after 2 weeks of use. The texture is very similar to a thicker emulsion and is very creamy. A little goes a long (loooong) way because the texture is incredibly slippery, as I mentioned above, I find myself rinsing a few more times to ensure that the cleanser is completely gone from my face. It doesn’t foam up at all.

This Blue Lots 4-in-1 Cleansing Milk is, however, a little on the drying side. I wouldn’t go so far as to say that it strips my skin completely, but if I don’t apply products to my skin almost immediately, my skin begins to feel very tight. I find that it especially seems to dry out the area around my eyebrows and between the eyes, which is typically where I have the most bothersome flaky skin. I am mostly likely going to set this aside until spring or maybe summer, when the weather isn’t as dry and the central heat is not running all the time.

There is 150ml (5.07oz.) of product that comes in a tube. Since the recommendation is to wet your hands and face if you’re using this cleansing milk for cleansing and not make up removal, I find it a bit slippery to manage and makes a bit of a mess! You don’t have to squeeze too hard to get the product, and the cap is secure. Packaging is not see-through so you don’t have to worry about light or air damaging or affecting the product.

Out of the four key features and benefits, with just a couple of weeks of use, I think the only benefit I’m able to speak about is whether the Whole Oat (Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernal Extract, 13th in the ingredient list) had any calming or soothing effects. I suffer from some redness in the cheeks and hormonal break outs, and unfortunately, I did not find that this cleanser further soothed my skin.

Overall, considering the relatively high price point of this cleanser ($36USD for 150ml), I find it to be so-so. It may be a different story when the climate isn’t so dry,, but for a product that is supposed to be suitable for all skin types, I think it’s really more for people with normal or slightly oily skin. Since my skin is so dry, I likely would not repurchase this; my skin did not have adverse effects at all, but I just don’t feel that it is exceptional, especially for that price point.

Have you tried any Purlisse products, or tried this particular cleansing milk? Did it work out for you?

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

One thought on “Sponsored Review: Pur-Lisse Blue Lotus 4-in-1 Cleansing Milk

Leave a Reply

