Bi-Weekly Mask Review · Review · Sheet Masks

Bi-Weekly Sheetmask Reviews – December 19, 2016-January 1, 2017

This review falls in the week leading up to Christmas and then leading up to New Years! With a little extra time and a few get togethers, I chose some extra-nice masks to pamper myself these two weeks, and of course, am featuring my few Christmas teddy bears. After all, when else would I feature them?

December 19, 2016 - January 1, 2017 Masks
December 19, 2016 – January 1, 2017 Masks featuring Dr. Jart, Primera, Scinic, Cremorlab, and Faith in Face

I was excited about all of these masks! I had only used the Primera mask before, and these other ones seemed like the perfect pamper sessions! Unfortunately, not all of them performed the way I had hoped.

Faith in Face I Need Relaxing Care Mask
Faith in Face I Need Relaxing Care Mask

Who & What: Faith in Face I Need Relaxing Care Soothing Moisture Mask 
Purpose: Soothe and hydrate tired skin and also revitalize the skin
Stars: 6/10
Repurchase: Maybe

Comments: The packaging of the Faith in Face masks are so different! They stood out easily in a wall of sheetmasks at Olive Young. As someone with dry skin, I love using moisturizing and hydrating masks. This pearl cellulose mask has a pearl backing but is a super thin mask soaked with essence. The material is quite soft and there are slits around the mask for maximum adherence. The mask folds in on itself very easily, but it doesn’t tear too easily so I was able to manipulate it until I was happy with the fit. It’s definitely a fairly wide mask!

The mask has a fresh scent and lasted about 40 minutes for it before it started to dry in some areas. Unfortunately, while this was a really moisturizing mask and my skin is definitely not as dry, I didn’t see the soothing effects this mask was also supposed to have. The essence was not sticky when I pat it in, so I layered on a sleeping mask to keep the hydrating result. My skin does feel chok chok, but I was hoping for some soothing action too, to reduce some of the redness in my cheeks.

Primera Alpine Berry Watery Hydro Gel Mask
Primera Alpine Berry Watery Hydro Gel Mask

Who & What: Primera Alpine Berry Watery Hydro Gel Mask
Purpose: Moisturize
Stars: 10/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: Despite this mask being a bit on the pricier side since it is a hydro gel mask, I do really love it! The mask gives my skin the moisture it needs, and is great for just before any kind of special event. It doesn’t irritate the skin at all. There’s a ton of essence on this mask and it lasts a good hour so it makes for a great relaxing pamper session.

I haven’t tried too many other hydrogels but so far, I’ve loved all that I’ve tried. This mask doesn’t fit all the way to the edges, but it doesn’t slip at all and the finish is not sticky at all. It even leaves my skin a little bit brightened, so it was prefect for before-Christmas-party pampering!

Scinic Intensive Dual Mask (Soothing)
Scinic Intensive Dual Mask (Soothing)

Who & What: Scinic Dual Intensive Soothing Mask
Purpose: Soothing
Stars: 7/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: Similar to the Illi Green Tea Brightening Mask, this is a two-piece cotton mask that fits pretty well. It actually goes a little further; the bottom piece even covers under the chin, so you wrap the bottom two sides up onto your cheeks again. If you’re not the kind of person that likes thicker masks, this one is not for you. The material itself is already on the thicker side, but you overlap the top/bottom pieces by a fair bit, so there’s a thick strip right across the nose and cheeks.

For someone like me, who has dry skin and needs hydration though, I don’t mind the thicker material. The mask smells a little like alcohol and the scent dissipates after a short while. The mask is soaked in essence but not drippy at all. Although it says 36ml on the package, it’s actually split into two sides for the top and bottom pieces, so there’s no essence left in the packet.

This is a large mask in terms of the packaging, because the top and bottom pieces are kept separate. It makes it very easy to extract the masks so they can easily be unfolded, but it does seem like an excessive bit of packaging.

The ingredients include tea tree and aloe extract for soothing action. I removed the mask after 50 minutes to even skin, reduced redness, and the dry patch under my right orbital bone was gone. However, my skin doesn’t feel as plump and hydrated as I normally like, so I layered on a sleeping mask to give it a bit of a boost.

Overall, I found the mask to be okay. It did start to feel a little heavy, so it’s not really mask that you put on a forget about. The finish isn’t sticky, and it does sooth the skin, but there are other masks that both soothe and hydrate my skin, so I likely won’t choose to repurchase this.

Cremorlab White Bloom Triple Bright Floral Mask
Cremorlab White Bloom Triple Bright Floral Mask

Who & What: Cremorlab White Bloom Triple Bright Floral Mask
Purpose: Brightening
Stars: 4/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: I was so psyched about this mask but ugh. Even forgetting about price for a minute, this mask was so disappointing. Let’s just say that it’s a 4 because it didn’t give me negative effects, but it also didn’t really give me any positive results.

The good news is, the fit of the mask is great. The material is super thin and comfortable, with a great fit on me for the eyes, nose, and mouth. No issues at all with adherence! The mask was soaked but not dripping, with a little bit of essence left in the packet. The material will stretch easily, so be careful with unfolding it!

The mask itself also has a light fragrance if you take a close whiff of it, so it’s great for those of us who are sensitive to strong fragrances. Unfortunately, that’s the end of the pros for me.

Masking time was relatively short with the nose and strip above the lip drying within 25 minutes. I kept the mask on for a little while after that, but upon removal, the essence was SO sticky! It just would not sink in, but I didn’t want to wipe it all off with toner, so I just layered sleeping mask on and tried to keep my hair from sticking to my face.

For a name like Triple Bright I was expecting brightening results. Nothing. Okay, maybe some barely-there evening of skin tone, but that was about it. Not only that, but the mask wasn’t even moisturizing. I couldn’t really find that post-sheetmasking glow on my skin.

Given the price, I’m totally over this mask. I’m open to trying the other varieties, but I would not repurchase this particular ‘flavour’. I was expecting more from you, Cremorlab!

Dr. Jart V7 Toning Mask
Dr. Jart V7 Toning Mask

Who & What: Dr. Jart V7 Toning Mask
Purpose: Brightening, Evening out skin tone and complexion
Stars: 9.5/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: A few months ago, @lotusandthesnail posted a stellar review of this mask. Without a second thought, I looked for it, and luckily found it in Hong Kong.

Then, I hoarded it, and hoarded it. But @woodnote_song also used it and reviewed it, and I just knew I had to break it out!

So, I started off my 2017 with a sheetmask that pretty much blew my mind.

The Dr. Jart. V7 Toning Mask is an Ultra-Fine Real White Sheet Mask with Seven Vitamins Complex (Vit A, B3, B5, C, E, F, H) & White Jade for clear and bright skin. It contains a host of other great ingredients, including niacinamide, and licorice root.

Fit: @lotusandthesnail said her mask was housed between plastic and mesh, but my mask, like @woodnote_song’s, had an orange backing. This is where the mask loses half a point; the mask was slightly lopsided, so it was difficult to put the mask on then remove the backing, considering one eye was covered by the orange backing. With a little finagling, I got it to work; I’m hoping it’s just bad luck that the mask came this way.

Essence: Lots of cream essence. I’m saving what’s in the packet for tomorrow, but I made a point to smear the essence on the front of the orange backing all over my face before I put the mask on. The essence was a little sticky and smelled like lotion, but the scent dissipated quickly.

Material: The ultra thin micro-fibre white skincell material was super comfortable and conformed well to the skin once I arranged the fit. I think the sticky essence helps the mask adhere well. It feels different than other masks (cotton, tencel, hydrogel), but it was very soft and incredibly thin.

Results: The mask lasted 45 minutes and the finish was not sticky at all. The reason this blew my mind was because this Toning Mask is meant to brighten the skin and even out the skin tone and complexion. It definitely did this, but it did not reduce much redness in the cheeks or around some acne on my left cheek. But this mask makes my skin feel like it has been through a professional facial.

My face feels hydrated and moisturized for sure. It feels super chok chok and there’s definitely post sheet-masking glow. I can’t explain it! Visually, immediately after removal, the results I saw in the mirror did not blow some of my favourites out of the water. That is visually. However, my skin FEELS healthy, bouncy, soft, and plump!

In the morning, I woke up to a very good skin day, where my complexion was very even and my face was mostly hydrated with the exception of part of my right cheek. Overall, I’m still very impressed with this mask!

Final Thoughts: I was a bit bummed that just two of the masks in my holiday choices turned out well. I still have several of the Primera Hydro Gels, which I intentionally saved for special occasions. 2017 will be an exercise of using up what’s in my stash and not crazily buying everything! I can’t wait to review more products this year!

Happy New Year, my lovelies!

Disclaimer: I purchased most of these and they are not sponsored products. All thoughts and opinion are honest, and my own. I am not any kind of skincare expert, and am simply exploring products in search of my holy grail products.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

Leave a Reply

