Review · Sheet Masks

Review: Jayjun Refine to Shine Real Water Brightening Black Mask

This Jayjun Refine to Shine mask is a cult favourite and for very good reason. It’s a multi-step mask that is great for travel as it comes with a cleansing foam, essence, and sheetmask.

About the company:
Jayjuncosmetics was founded in 2014 by plastic surgeons, dermatologists, and professional skincare researchers. Their slogan is “Responsible for Beauty”and their mission is to resolve women’s skin concerns, specifically related to skin-aging. They use ingredients to make skin brighter and more beautiful so that women can look younger than their age. This Real Water Brightening Black Mask is one of their popular products.

Jayjun Refine to Shine Real Water Brightening Black Mask
Jayjun Refine to Shine Real Water Brightening Black Mask

The three steps of this mask are nicely divided and the perforated lines on the packaging made it easy to ‘disassemble’ the mask before use.

Step 1: Real Water Cleansing Foam

Ingredients:
Purified water, Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Potassium Hydroxide, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Lauric Acid, Myristic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Beeswax, Glycol Distearate, Sorbitan Olivate, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Propylene Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Hyaluronate, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Mineral water, Ethylhexylglycerin, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance

While I personally do now own any pH testing strips, I’ve seen other reviewers mention that this Cleansing Foam has a high pH. I did not find this cleansing foam particularly stripping or drying, but if you take a look at the Cosdna results, this cleansing foam is full of acne triggers. Ingredients in red means the acne triggers were between 2-4. I’m quite surprised, since a number of ingredients also hit 3s and 4s on the Safety rating, especially considering the fact that this product should have been created by dermatologists and skincare researchers.

This cleansing foam is a dense foam that is easily massaged onto the skin. The packet contained more than enough product to cleanse the entire face. The cleansing foam as a scent that seems common to skincare lotions; I can’t put my finger on it, but it is lightly fragranced. The other two steps of the mask smell the same. For me, it worked like any other cleanser, but I was not using this on a face with make up, nor after removing make up.

Step 2: Vita Snow Essence

Ingredients:
Purified water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Polyacrylate, Niacinamide, Sodium Hyaluronate, Adenosine, Hydroxyethyl Urea, Mineral water, Ethylhexylglycerin, Beta-glucan, 1,2-Hexandiol, Caprylyl Glycol, Illicium Verum Fruit Extract, Calcium Pantothenate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Pyridoxine HCL, Sodium Starch Octenyl Succinate, Maltodextrin, Silica, Carbomer, Tromethamine, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Betaine, Allantoin, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance

The Vita Snow Essence’s ingredient list looks much cleaner on Cosdna. The only acne trigger (with a rating of 1) is Butylene Glycol, which is common in a lot of the skincare products that I have and use. Niacinimade is in here for brightening, and Adenosine for anti-aging, so presumbaly with continued use, you should expect brightening effects, and possibly some firming results.

I enjoyed this essence. There’s enough in the packet for two uses. I found the essence to be moisturizing, and only slightly sticky. In the first use, which is right before the application of the sheetmask, I did not wait for it to absorb and simply applied the sheetmask on top. The next day, when I used the remaining essence on my face without the mask, I gave it a moment to absorb, and it did so nicely without any stickiness remaining.

With juse two uses, it’s hard to tell whether this is an effective essence, but I enjoyed it because it gave my skin a boost of moisture. I tried this while I had pared down my skincare routine due to breakouts, and I’m down to using only a toner, essence, and heavy moisturizer post-cleanse. I’ve been doing this for about two weeks now, so it was easy to tell that this essence did give my skin a bit more moisture than my routine had been given me, and my cheeks looked a little more plump.

Step 3: Real water Brightening Black Mask Sheet

Ingredients:
Purified water, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, Niacinamide, 1,2-Hexandiol, Adenosine, Betaine, Beta-glucan, Mineral water, Ceramide 03, Carbomer, Tromethamine, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Diethoxyethyl Succinate, Caprylic/Capric Tryglycerides, Hydroxyethyl Urea, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Allantoin, Disodium EDTA, Ethanol, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance

The ingredients of the Sheet Mask itself is also quite clean, according to Cosdna. It leaves me very surprised that the cleansing foam had so many triggers! Niacinimade and Adenosine are in here again, along with Ceramide! The black mask is made of cotton, and according to the Jayjuncosmetic site, “the pure cotton hardwood charcoal mask sheet which emits anion will purify your skin by adsorbing skin waste and fine dust”.

While I can’t speak for absorption of skin waste, this sheetmask produced tremendous brightening results for me! I’m not sure whether it’s a combination of using the essence right before the mask, or the mask itself.

The mask was strangely folded so it took a bit of finagling for me to get it unfolded and applied to my skin. This mask does have the ‘eye flaps’ which were a bit short so one side did pop up to my eye while I tried to put the mask on, which was a little annoying. I don’t really want essence in my eye, thank you very much! Once on, I was able to smooth the flaps down and crease it so it wasn’t a problem. This mask fit very well for my face, and adherence was excellent. The mask did not slip nor slide and stayed on the entire time.

I had the mask on for about 45 minutes before I took it off. I was wowed by the brightening effects! My skin looked so bright and glowy, and there wasn’t any redness on my cheeks. The big pimple under my skin just above my right eyebrow looked a little less red. My skin felt moisturized.

There were just two downsides to this mask. First, the essence was sticky post-mask. So sticky! I waited a few minutes in hopes it would absorb, but it didn’t. I didn’t end up wiping it off; I just layered a sleeping mask on top and let it be. Second, after use, I found that there was this scent akin to denim. You know that scent you can get from jeans sometimes, and it smells a little funky and hard to get rid of? It smelled like that. It was really strange, because the mask itself did not have that scent at all! I’m not sure if I was smelling things, but that’s the whiff I got post-mask, and it lingered for some time.

I would have to try this mask again to see if the after-mask scent is there again. Could have been some strange fluke? I’m not really sure! But overall, I would rate this a 9/10, because the brightening and moisturizing effects were just so amazing. The cleanser is a nice-t0-have if I were into sheetmasking while on a plane, but I’m not, and especially not with a black mask! So if this was a 2-step mask without the cleanser, since the cleanser has so many acne triggers, I’d be all over it. Still, I could easily skip the cleansing foam and use the essence and mask alone.

Have you tried this, or any other Jayjun masks? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments below!

Disclaimer: I purchased this product on my own and all thoughts and opinions belong to me. I am not a skincare expert.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

One thought on “Review: Jayjun Refine to Shine Real Water Brightening Black Mask

Leave a Reply

