Bi-Weekly Mask Review · Sheet Masks

Bi-Weekly Sheetmask Reviews – November 21-December 4, 2016

Time is flashing by; I can’t believe it’s already December! This is the time of year, just after Black Friday, that I keep wanting to buy things, things that are on sale, things that are Christmas edition, finding excuses to treat myself…I have to remember that I came back from Seoul with a giant haul not too long ago! Too many products, too little face to use them on!

November 21 – December 4, 2016 Masks
November 21 – December 4, 2016 Masks featuring SNP, Evercos, L’Herboflore, Innisfree, and Scinic

The past two weeks had only one “dud”, and one so-so mask, so compared to the last Bi-Weekly review this one was WAY better. Lots of hydration, and lots of pampering! The only bad mask I had was the character mask, so let’s talk about that one first and get it out of the way!

SNP Animal Otter Aqua Mask
SNP Animal Otter Aqua Mask

Who & What: SNP Animal Otter Aqua Mask
Purpose: Hydrate
Stars: 3/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: Terrible. I’m starting to think I’ll never find a character mask that fits my face well; forget about the results! They’re always super oval and narrow; are they only made for people with thin faces?

This moisturizing mask smells like alcohol. It’s dripping out of the packet, and not in a good way. The material does actually feel like paper so it wasn’t particularly soft and comfortable on the skin and the essence originally felt like it was just sliding off the paper mask. Aside from some slight moisturization after 40 minutes (which, I’m surprised it lasted as long), the mask did nothing else for me.

I received this ask a gift from someone and I wouldn’t buy this on my own; nor would I recommend it. There are so many other masks that perform so much better! I mean, I guess it’s fun to have a mask party if you’re into that kind of thing. If I had any mask party at all, I’d choose effective masks over visually-fun masks…but that’s just me!

Evercos Red Ginseng Mask
Evercos Red Ginseng Mask

Who & What: Evercos Red Ginseng Mask
Purpose: Hydrate, Soothe, and Soften
Stars: 9/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: So far, my encounters with Evercos masks have been incredible on all fronts. But let’s talk fit. The fit of these super thin masks is fantastic, reaching up to my hairline, and ear-to-year. I love the fit even with the excess in the chin; everything just adheres so well that you can barely tell that I have a mask on! This dripping mask does smell strongly of ginseng, so if Hanbang scents aren’t your thing, steer clear. But if you just…don’t particularly like it? Use it, because the results are so worth it!

The mask lasted 45 minutes before some parts started to dry. My face was brighter, more plump, and redness in the cheeks were reduced. Only areas that looked unaffected were around my pimples, which were still pretty red and inflammed 😦

I patted in the essence, but there was so much that it took around 10 minutes or so for it to full absorb. After that, my face felt smooth and supple. Even the next morning, my skin was smooth to touch and still very much hydrated, despite having the heat on!

I can’t decide which Evercos mask is my favourite!

L'Herboflore Watermelon Vitalizing Hydromask
L’Herboflore Watermelon Vitalizing Hydromask

Who & What: L’Herboflore Watermelon Vitalizing Hydromask
Purpose: Nourish, Brighten, and Moisturize the skin.
Stars: 8/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: The yellow watermelon featured here is not just a graphic; it’s a real melon produced in Taiwan! This fruit is rich in Vitamins A and C which will give the mask it’s results…nourishing, brightening, and moisturizing results!

The term “Hydromask” confuses me! It makes me think it should be a hydrogel, but it isn’t! It’s actually a soft sheetmask dripping with essence and a refreshing scent! This mask is my second? L’Herboflore Mask. It was cool on my face and lasted over 40 minutes. It left my face soft, plump, and brightened — so much that you could see where the mask ended on my forehead! That’s when you know the brightening results are real!

Oddly enough, my skin did feel kind of dry after a while, so I layered on a sleeping mask and it was okay. Kind of weird, considering the results immediately after removing the mask were pretty good.

There was a lot of essence left in the mask packet so I saved it for the next day and applied it to my face when I got out of the shower, so that my face could stay hydrated while I blow-dried my hair.

I just love the packaging for this line of masks! The colours are super vibrant and colourful; just looking at these makes me happy, and quite unable to choose a mask to use! Overall, I’m pretty impressed so far with L’Herboflore masks. They’re a little pricier, but not overly so. I’d try other flavours and then decide which to re-purchase, but the brightening power of this mask was pretty amazing!

Scinic Hyaluronic Acid Essence Mask
Scinic Hyaluronic Acid Essence Mask

Who & What: Scinic Hyaluronic Acid Essence Mask
Purpose: Moisturize
Stars: 5/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: This mask, while having a refreshing scent, does contain alcohol. It’s the third ingredient on the list, but I was surprised it didn’t smell of alcohol. The mask itself does also contain fragrance at the end of the list.

This moisturizing mask is huge! It’s rare for me to feel like a mask is too big for me; usually, they are short and not wide enough, as I like my masks to stretch to my ears. This one did exactly that, almost a little too far, but because I’ve only encountered a few masks that I feel are an excellent fit, I really won’t complain.

The material is quite soft, surprisingly. The mask stayed wet for over 35 minutes; as usual, the little strip between my upper lip and nose dried first. There was a bit of a tingle on the left side of my nose; I don’t know why I typically only feel tingles around the nose area/ Maybe it’s extra sensitive, somehow? Anyway, I patted the essence in and it wasn’t sticky at all! There’s about a small teaspoon of essence left in the packet.

The mask left my skin a bit moisturized, and my skin looked to be a little more even. It really was nothing particuarly wow about this mask. I’ve used so many others that were moisturizing and didn’t smell like generic refreshing fragrance. I’m not sure I’m a fan of alcohol in face masks although I personally have not had adverse effects. After a while, the mask results seemingly disappeared and the edges of my face actually started to feel tight as if it were dry. I ended up layering a sleeping mask on my face, so I wasn’t overly impressed beyond the first 30 minutes of removing this mask.

Innisfree It's Real Rice Mask
Innisfree It’s Real Rice Mask

Who & What: Innisfree It’s Real Rice Mask
Purpose: Smooth and Brighten rough and dull skin
Stars: 7/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: My mom always tells me that you can use rice water (i.e. the water we wash the rice with) to wash your face. Traditionally, when used, it it said to keep the skin clear and bright. Personally, I have not tried it yet.

This mask was so comfortable. I don’t mind the thicker plush masks, and the fit on this one was fantastic and wide, my favourite! It also adhered really well despite the thick triple-layer material. It did have the strange eye flaps, but I left them smoothed under the eye as a double layer. No need for that though; this mask stayed damp for over 50 minutes; when I took it off, it was still quite damp!

The essence is a milky emulsion-like essence and there’s about a teaspoon left in the packet. When I removed the mask, there was a lot of essence on the face so it took a couple minutes of massaging and patting in to get it absorbed. The finish was just slightly, ever so slightly sticky.

The mask left my skin nicely moisturized but was lacking in brightening effects; I didn’t see any and truthfully, the L’Herboflore Vitalising one I mentioned above had much better brightening effects. This mask does have a ton of other floral extracts in the ingredient list that comes before rice extract, so it’s no surprise that the mask smells more floral than rice-like. Oddly enough, I thought I caught a whiff of alcohol when I opened the packet.

Still, you can’t complain about a great fit on a super affordable mask! I haven’t tried too many of these Innisfree masks, but I’d be willing to try many more out of this line!

I layered on a sleeping mask over top of this and woke up to soft, plump skin!

So that’s it for another Bi-Weekly sheetmask review! What do you think, did any catch your fancy? Masking for me is all about brightening and hydration. Please, send me recommendations!

Disclaimer: I purchased most of these and they are not sponsored products. All thoughts and opinion are honest, and my own. I am not any kind of skincare expert, and am simply exploring products in search of my holy grail products.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

2 thoughts on “Bi-Weekly Sheetmask Reviews – November 21-December 4, 2016

  1. Hello,
    I am enjoying your blog for some time, and the reviews you publish are great, thanks for all the work you are doing here!
    Also I am currently in Seoul, Korea and I just cannot find the store where I can purchase Evercos masks. So, if you could kindly give the names of the shops where you found that precious mask, I would be very, very grateful.

    Like

    1. Hi Maria, thank you! I’m sorry, I haven’t seen Evercos masks in Seoul yet, either! Maybe you can check the Olive Youngs or Lohbs stores since they have a bigger variety? The ones I have, were from a giveaway that I won! I’m not sure if they may be an online brand only. Hope you find what you’re looking for!

      Like

Leave a Reply

