Beauteque BBBag · Subscriptions

Subscription: Beauteque BBBag October 2016

Alas, another shipment that arrived late! I can only imagine that, with holiday shipping delays, I won’t get my last two bags for a while. It’s a little disappointing, but what can you do about it?

Here’s the Beauteque October 2016 BBBag, themed Post Party Recovery! Beauteque must really be living this Post Party theme here, considering they usually have a short blurb about their theme for the month! But this month, there’s just a theme on the front and that’s it.

Subscription Details:
Beauteque is a subscription service that costs between $22 to $24 a month depending on the length of your subscription, plus another $6.95 for shipping to Canada. Recipients should receive 6-8 full size items but for the 10th month, we’re looking at 6 items.

Beauteque October 2016 BBBag
Beauteque October 2016 BBBag

Total Value according to Beauteque: $65.98 + $6.95 S&H = $72.93
Total Value if purchased separately: $58.97 + $2.36 CDN = $60.66 USD (with a 1.40 conversion)
Difference in Beauteque’s listed price and possible purchase price:$12.27
Total Savings with $24 per month + shipping: $29.71

Calculations are based on best choice of purchases based strictly on price and shipping combination.

**Check out my September BBBag here!

1) Hanaka Hyaluronic Acid Sleeping Pack ($15 Value)
Unable to Locate

I was pretty psyched about this spoiler! My skin loves Hyaluronic Acid, and we were getting a tub of a sleeping pack, which I also love to use! This may be a bit lighter in it’s gel form so I might wait to use this until after the winter has passed (maybe 6 months from now?!) but I can’t wait to try it! This comes with a ton of additional extracts such as aloe vera, cactus, and camellia. Looks impressive!

2) A’Pieu Mineral Lip & Eye Makeup Remover – Sweet Rose ($13.00 Value)
Amazon.com (3 for $24), Beauteque ($10.99, not even $13)

While I don’t frequently wear make up, when I do, even if I only barely tightline my eyes, I always make a point to use point make up remover. I just feel like it’s cleaner to do so, and it’s important to protect your eyes and ensure they were cleaned well. It takes a long time to go through one of these removers, but I don’t think they’ll expire for a while, so I’ll be able to keep this, as I don’t have any back ups at this time.

3) KAO Megurhythm Steam Hot Eye Mask (2 x $2.50 = $5.00 Value)
Amazon.ca ($1.17CDN each)

We always have these around the house, so this is incredibly useful. A lot of people use these masks for relaxation, on flights, or to help them sleep and rest their eyes. It was actually recommended by our family optometrist in lieu of hot water bags or hot rags, because the heat can help with dry eyes.

4) Vacci Royal Luminant Auto Eyeliner Pencil ($10.99 Value)
Unable to locate

Still searching for an eyeliner that won’t smudge too much and give me panda eyes! I’m happy to receive another eyeliner in my subscription.This one even comes with its own sharpener, which is pretty neat! It’s supposed to be waterproof and transfer-proof…we’ll see about that! Unfortunately, it seems that even if I do love it, it’ll be impossible to find. It’s not even on the Beauteque.com website, nor anywhere else within the first page of search results from Google. Oh well.

5) Mediheal Peelosoft XP Shot ($11.99 Value)
Testerkorea (₩9,350, approx $8.42 USD, plus 6,570 or $5.92 USD shipping)

I was super intrigued by this! This peeling swab has both BHA and AHA for gentle exfoliation. You dip the provided swab into the tube for a few seconds then rub it over the face avoiding the eye and lip areas. They do recommend 1-2 uses per week which can get expensive; I’m sure you can get effective BHA and AHA treatments for less, but this would be super travel-friendly!

6) Mystery Beauty Brush ($10.00 Value)
Beauteque Make Up Brush

I’ve seen other people had received a colourful hairbrush and I was hopeful to receive one, too. Alas, I received a make up brush, and I don’t particularly like it. Don’t get me wrong; purple is my favourite colour so when I first opened the make up bag and spotted it, I almost squealed. That was before I touched it. This is a brush that looks metallic, but is super light, and feels (and smells!) like plastic. I’m not particularly impressed. I’ll probably use this to powder my face, but only after a very thorough wash.

So overall? I think this bag was a win. I have high hopes for the sleeping pack, and I believe the BHA/AHA treatment and point remover will be useful. The Kao eye masks are a staple in my household. As for the eyeliner, the quality remains to be seen, so I’m witholding judgement. The brush though? Not worth it.

So that’s the October 2016 bag! Now that I’m down to two bags left, if Beauteque were to ask me what else I’d like to see in the upcoming bags, I’d first say no more acne/spot treatment items! November’s spoilers include hand cream, travel bath/shower set, a strawberry cream (great timing since I’m almost done with the cream we received in the March BBBag), and a lip balm. I would be interested to receive some kind of ampoule or essence (serum would be too expensive for this bag!). Perhaps something like an italy towel for the beauty tool. Possibly an eye cream; we only received one of those in the past 10 months. I wish they would send lip balms in stick form instead of ‘pot’ form, but that’s just a personal preference. Those are my thoughts!

What about you? What do you think would be neat to receive in a subscription?

Disclaimer: I purchased this subscription on my own and all opinions are my own.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

Leave a Reply

