Bi-Weekly Mask Review · Review · Sheet Masks

Bi-Weekly Sheetmask Reviews – October 24-November 6, 2016

Another two weeks, another bi-weekly sheetmask review! These two weeks, my key concerns were hydration, and brightening. Holy moly is the weather crazy, fluctuating between drastic temperatures day by day and leaving us unsure whether we needed the heat and down duvets, or the switch the AC back on!

October 24 - November 6 New Masks
October 24 – November 6 New Masks, featuring Olive Young x Dream Works Shrek, Illi, Skin 9 Village, Naruko, and My Beauty Diary

All in all, only one of these was a dud, so I’d call it a pretty good couple of weeks! The one I was most excited to try out of these five was definitely the Olive Young Butter Moisturizing Hydro Jelly Mask, and it was one of my top two favourites out of these five!

Skin 9 Village Super Leopard Whitening Honey Pack
Skin 9 Village Super Leopard Whitening Honey Pack

Who & What: Skin 9 Village Super Leopard Whitening Honey Pack
Purpose: Character Mask which provides whitening and elastic effects
Stars: 6.5/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: I received a box of ten of these masks from a good friend who knew I loved honey-anything! I was really looking forward to using this mask because it has an impressive ingredient list. Niacinimide, Royal Jelly Extract, and Snail Secretion Filtrate were the 4th to 6th ingredients in the list!

Sadly, the mask does smell like fragrance instead of honey, and I’m used to honey masks smelling like honey! The fit did not work well for me; I’ve yet to find a character mask that fits well. It was very narrow, had strange slits, and a very, VERY long nose piece. The eye area was too narrow; I’ll have to cut them next time because this mask irritated the outer corners of my eyes. I guess I looked like an interesting leopard? ^_^;;

The mask lasted 45 minutes and was still damp when I took it off. Essence absorbed quickly with a little patting and had no tackiness. My skin was slightly brightened, and there was some redness reduction. However, my skin felt smoother, and it looked like my complexion was a little more even than before using the mask. For a mask that claims it’s purpose is whitening though, I’m a bit disappointed.

There’s a tablespoon of clear essence left in the packet, which I used the next day on my face and neck. Overally, this mask was kind of fun to use, and the results were okay. They are good enough though, to justify using the rest of the masks I have!

My Beauty Diary Platinum + Pearl Lift Stretch Mask
My Beauty Diary Platinum + Pearl Lift Stretch Mask

Who & What: My Beauty Diary Platinum + Pearl Lift Stretch Mask
Purpose: Brighten the skin and lift the skin
Stars: 8.5/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: Look at the picture of the mask in the lower right corner. This mask not only had hooks for the ear; it has a flap for under the chin that hooks up to the ears as well to provide some lifting action! This is serious business, guys, you’ll never sneeze this mask off!

The package has quite a few claims. There are some fruit extracts in the ingredients, and the mask claims that these extracts will reduce? penetrate? dead skin cells to allow the other ingredients and extracts better provide moisture and nourishment to the skin. The mask material and the design itself is unique supposed to be unique to the brand, allowing for the skin to receive maximum nourishment from the mask, at a full 360 degrees. The recommendation is 20-30 minutes, and it actually recommends that you follow up with a moisturizer to lock in the results of the mask.

Let’s talk cons first. The eye area was very small and again, irritated the outer corners of my eyes. That’s two masks in a row in this batch! There is fragrance in this mask, and it does linger for the entire duration of the mask. It’s not an overwhelming scent, but it doesn’t dissipate.

Now, let’s talk pros and results. The material is a little thick and looks like it has little diamond shapes on it. I was worried the fit would pull on the ears, but it didn’t. The material was soft and held a lot of essence. It definitely wrapped under my chin and even a little bit on my neck. It doesn’t really suffocate, but I think it felt slightly uncomfortable since I wasn’t used to it. But wow, did this mask BRIGHTEN my skin! Redness reduction in the cheeks and my pimples (to clarify, the pimples did look a little less red but did not look smaller or improved in any other way), and my face was left plump and moisturized!

I’m impressed by the brightening and evened skin tone this mask provided! When I patted in the essence left on my face, I was concerned it might be sticky because it seemed like there was a lot left on my skin. However, my skin drank it up quickly with zero tackiness. I layered the Cosrx Ultimate Nourishing Rice Mask on top in hopes that it would retain both the moisture and brightening effects until the next morning, and it definitely did. I’m pretty impressed; if only the eye area was not so tiny and the fragrance didn’t bother me so much!

I can’t speak much to any lifting action, though. Nothing feels lifted, stretched, or firmed.

Naruko HA Hydro-Lock Moisturizing Mask
Naruko HA Hydro-Lock Moisturizing Mask

Who & What: Naruko Essentials HA Hydro-Lock Moisturizing Mask
Purpose: To Hydrate and Moisturize (the package says moisturized skin makes you look younger and prettier, haha!)
Stars: 7.5/10
Repurchase: Maybe

Comments: I almost forgot I had this one (and only) Naruko Mask! It was expiring this month so I had to use it up! I really like this simplistic packaging; the colour is super vibrant and the border is pretty!

The mask has a sheet backing which is typical of Taiwanese masks that I’ve used before. I’m really terrible at applying the mask then removing the backing, but luckily, this mask did not end up all bunched up when I removed the backing first, and was easy to arrange on my face. The fit was pretty good for me, and this mask even has little slits by the eyes, to avoid irritating the outer corners of your eyes! The mask was dripping with essence when I took it out, and there was about a teaspoon of clear essence left in the packet, which I smeared on my arms and neck.

This mask does contain fragrance as the last ingredient on the list, but it has a light, refreshing scent that dissipates after a while, so it didn’t bother me at all.

This mask was super cooling on my face, but it only lasted 25 minutes for me before it started to feel dry. I’ve been spoiled by longer-lasting masks! In retrospect, I should have saved the essence and layered it on top of the mask, but oh well! Still, when I took it off, there was a lot of essence left that my skin drank up as I patted it in. My face was brightened, and moisturized! I layered on a sleeping mask over it to help lock in the results.

Despite the positive results though, I do feel like the mask was fairly average with other masks on the market that boast similar claims (and results) at a very low price. Although I get that the mask was meant to hydrate and moisturze, I feel like that’s what all basic masks should do. This one did the job, yes, but I don’t feel like the results lasted very long. Despite layering a sleeping mask on top, the ‘chok chok’ feeling did not last very long for me. By the time I was done puttering around to settle for bed, the super refreshed feeling was pretty much gone, although my face did still appear brightened.

I would say I’ve found similar results with other cheaper alternatives!

Olive Young x Dreamworks Shrek Butter "Moisturizing" Hydro Jelly Mask
Olive Young x Dreamworks Shrek Butter “Moisturizing” Hydro Jelly Mask

Who & What: Olive Young x Dreamworks Shrek Butter “Moisturizing” Hydro Jelly Mask
Purpose: Moisturize
Stars: 9/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: I actually haven’t tried too many hydrogel masks before, so I was pretty excited about this one. Check out the packaging; the gingerbread man looks pretty darn funny! the packaging is all in Korean though, so I can’t make heads or tails of it, but the assumption is that this is meant to moisturize the skin.

The mask comes in two pieces like most hydrogels I’ve seen. Each piece is sandwiched between one stiffer backing, and one that is more pliable. Both were actually sandwiched between a clear plastic cover, but it was flipped upside down so the open end was at the bottom of the mask. It’s kind of weird, considering I didn’t have anywhere to lay down the mask so I could get the first piece on, without making a mess of my counter. I ended up sliding it back in after taking out the first piece. The mask has a nice scent (note: it does not smell like cookies, not sure if I’m glad for that since I wouldn’t want to nom my face, or sad because it didn’t smell like cookies) but it is very light and barely noticeable for me.

The hydrogel fits well enough but isn’t very wide (my only complaint). I had the top piece a bit lower than I wanted so more of my forehead was exposed and there was an overlap of the top and bottom pieces. The eye area was big enough that I could have moved it up so the nose flap wasn’t as long, but once the mask was on, I didn’t want to take it off and rearrange it again. It was easy to smooth down, and once applied, it did not slip at all!

I applied the remaining essence on my arms and neck but there wasn’t any essence left in the package.

The mask lasted just over an hour before I took it off. The hydrogel didn’t exactly dry, but it felt like it was getting slightly tighter around the edges. Upon removal, only my nose and just under the eye area had essence that needed to be patted in. Most everything else was well absorbed. My face was left plump and smooth; not quite as smooth as if I’d smeared butter on my face, but definitely very smooth and soft! I’m very happy with the results! I didn’t seen much brightening effects, but as a bonus, I saw some soothing results, since the spots that sprung up on my cheek the last day or so were definitely less red.

I really enjoyed this mask! Since I got it on a 1+1 deal, the price was pretty good! I’d totally buy it again and save it for special occasions or cold winter days when it feels extra dry if the central heat is running. I did also pick up the Shrek one, which is the Tea Tree version. Looking forward to trying that one out, too!

Illi Total Aging Care Green Tea Brightening Mask
Illi Total Aging Care Green Tea Brightening Mask

Who & What: Illi Total Aging Care Green Tea Brightening Mask
Purpose: Green Tea is full of anti-oxidants to brighten up the skin as well as bringing moisture to the skin.
Stars: 10/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: I was blown away by the results of this mask. Due to stress and lack of sleep, my skin was dull, and dry. This mask was absolutely what my skin needed!

Let’s talk about the fit. The mask is a thick cotton mask but don’t let those words scare you; the mask is pliable and plush, like those triple-ply Kleenexes but even better! The nose area is a bit like a large bandage so even your nose gets total coverage. I put the top piece on first and overlapped the lower piece on top, so the areas where my cheeks needed more hydration had a double layer. The mask fit like a dream and adherence was not a problem at all.

The scent was a little green tea, and a little bit of other herbal scents. There definitely is also fragrance in here and the scent, while mild, does linger through the duration of the mask.

The essence is also a little bit on the thicker side, and there isn’t much left in the pouch aside from what is clinging to the sides. Even after almost 45 minutes of using the mask, it was still damp; enough that I actually wiped the mask across my neck and chest to get the most of the essence.

Although green tea extract is towards the end of the list, the mask does also contain niacinimde near the top of the list. This mask left my face brightened, skin tone evened out and overall, looking incredibly refreshed. Even the redness in the cheeks and around my pimples was completely reduced! I’m so amazed by these results; my skin feels so hydrated and moisturized that I don’t have to layer more moisturizer over it (but I did, bcause I can)!

Overall, a fantastic mask that I definitely would repurchase. Green Tea does seem like one of those ingredients my face really likes, along with my beloved honey!

Work has been so stressful lately because it’s the busiest time of year for us, so sheetmasking has been a very welcome pampering hour for myself every couple of nights. I was super glad that most of these masks didn’t let me down! Illi is a much-loved brand by the AB Community, and with good reason! I’ve really never had a mask fit that well, so much that I didn’t want to take it off at all. I dug around my stash and am super happy that I have some more of the green tea, as well as the Orchid, which I’ve been told is also the same two-piece fit. As for the other favourite, the Butter Moisturizing Mask from Olive Young, I think I’ll save that for special occasions! It was so enjoyable!

So which one caught your fancy? Let me know in the comments below!

Disclaimer: I purchased most of these and they are not sponsored products. All thoughts and opinion are honest, and my own. I am not any kind of skincare expert, and am simply exploring products in search of my holy grail products.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

Leave a Reply

