Bi-Weekly Mask Review · Review · Sheet Masks

Sheetmask Reviews – August 1-22, 2016

So apparently, I was over ambitious in choosing 7 masks for my second bi-weekly review. Between my skin freaking out due to that time of month, and pretty bad allergies, it took a lot longer than expected for me to use 7 new masks! I think I’ll have to keep it to 5 new masks every 2 weeks, but we’ll see how it goes. In case you missed the first of the series, check it out here!

August 1 - August 22, 2016 New Masks
August 1 – August 22, 2016 New Masks

Most of these masks were wins for me. Due to recommendations as well as reviews I’ve read, the top three that I wanted to try from this list were the Mediheal Dress Code Violet, the Illi Calming mask, and the Innisfree It’s Real Squeeze Mask in Shea Butter. In terms of packaging, strictly based on looks, it was the Dress Code Violet, because the mask is so fun, and I love this particular shade of purple!

Sephora Pearl Mask
Sephora Pearl Mask

Who & What: Sephora Pearl Mask
Purpose: To perfect and brighten with natural origin pearl and create high luminosity and minimize irregularities visibly.
Stars: 2/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: This was pretty much the only very-meh mask for me. For the price of $8 CDN a piece, I expected a lot more than moisturized skin for the result, especially when I get better results from masks that cost around $2 or a little less. Pearl was the 17th ingredient out of 25 in this list, and this was totally a bust. Would not purchase, nor am I really interested to try any other masks within this collection — there are plenty other, cheaper, masks to try and love. I have one more of these masks and I’m not particularly excited to use it. The mask was thick, and very wide. To be fair though, I wouldn’t have purchased it for this price point without doing a ton of reviews, and received these as bonuses with purchase.

The Face Shop Real Nature Honey Mask
The Face Shop Real Nature Honey Mask

Who & What: The Face Shop Real Nature Honey Mask
Purpose: According to TheFaceShop.ca, the honey extract with nourish the skin, revealing younger looking, invigorated skin.
Stars: 7/10
Repurchase: Maybe

Comments: My experience with The Face Shop Real Nature masks has been sub-par to say the least. Perhaps my standards were a bit lower when using this mask, but I actually really liked it. Soft mask, light honey scent, lasted 40 minutes, milky essence! This mask left my face soft and moisturized, and there was enough essence left for me to use the next evening. Dried a little tacky, that’s my main complaint along with the strange fit for these Face Shop Masks, but the if there is a good special, I would buy these again. The only problem is that the stores never carry a huge bulk of these masks (either to encourage mix-and-matching or they’re just hiding them!) so I guess the stars have to line up correctly for me to get these again.

Illi Mugwort Calming Mask
Illi Mugwort Calming Mask

Who & What: Illi Mugwort Calming Mask
Purpose: To calm, soothe, and moisturize the skin
Stars: 8.5/10
Repurchase: If price is right (so far, I’ve seen these are about $3 USD each)

Comments: My first ever Illi mask, thanks to the wonderful @MindYourBeauty! Many people Illi products, and for good reason! I haven’t done any thorough analysis or review of the ingredients but I saw excellent results with a single use mask. The fit was superb; the mask had a lot of essence but wasn’t drippy. There’s a bit of a hanbang (herbal) scent, but it didn’t bother me. The mask lasted 45 minutes and upon removal, I found the redness in my cheeks to be greatly reduced. My skin felt moisturized, and the essence was a little tacky at first, but after some patting, my skin drank it all up. My skin was slightly brightened. I haven’t tried mugwort masks before, so it could be that my skin loves mugwort as I always seem to have some redness in my cheeks. Will have to try others to see!

Innisfree It's Real Squeeze Shea Butter Mask
Innisfree It’s Real Squeeze Shea Butter Mask

Who & What: Innisfree It’s Real Squeeze Mask in Shea Butter
Purpose: Deliver deep hydration to the skin.
Stars: 9/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: This mask was highly recommended by @LittleEmptyBottles. Out of this series, this was my favourite mask! There is some fragrance and the mask smells like baby powder, but I didn’t mind it. The essence is creamy white but not too think, and these was a good teaspoon left in the packet. Despite it being summer, this mask left my face so soft and moisturized! My dry skin really drank this up. I removed the mask after 45 minutes. It didn’t feel stick until I layered a little bit of sleeping pack on top, but I really wanted to seal in the effects. My face was still soft and moisturized the next day! For the price point, I definitely need to repurchase these for our dry Canadian winters!

Cellina Firming & Brightening Mask
Cellina Firming & Brightening Mask

Who & What: Cellina Firming & Brightening Mask
Purpose: Firm, brighten, and moisturize the skin.
Stars: 7/10
Repurchase: Maybe

Comments: A Taiwanese brand I’ve never heard of, but was recommended to me! I can’t speak for the firming elements as I’ve yet to come across a mask that made my skin feel firmer…I can kid myself that I don’t need it yet, right? In terms of brightening, this definitely did the job. Was it the best brightening mask I’ve tried? No. But did it leave a ring around my face showing where the mask ended? Yup! I’m not usually a floral-scent lover, but the rose scent here was light and lovely. I’d pick this up again if the price was right, but I’m not as in love with it as I thought I would be.

IPKN New York Dia-Goat Milk Black Mask
IPKN New York Dia-Goat Milk Black Mask

Who & What: IPKN New York Dia-Goat Milk Black Mask
Purpose: Brighten and Cleanse skin, providing a baby-like complexion
Stars: 7/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: One of the cuter masks in this bunch! I loved the packaging! This mask was designed to brighten and cleanse the skin. I definitely saw brightening but I was more impressed by the hydration the essence gave me. This was a creamy essence which made me worry that my face wouldn’t drink it up, but it did! However, I was not a fan of the fit of this mask. I didn’t really see any cleansing results, although to be honest, I’m not sure what kind of results I should visually see for ‘cleansing’. My pores didn’t appear smaller or less visible, and my nose didn’t seem ‘cleaner’. But the mask was black, and overall, was pretty fun! The scent was very light and enjoyable as well, and dissipated quickly. The mask lasted about 40 minutes although the strip between the nose and lips dried up about 20 minutes in.

Mediheal Dress Code Violet Mask
Mediheal Dress Code Violet Mask

Who & What: The Face Shop Real Nature Longan Mask
Purpose: Moisturize and Brighten
Stars: 8/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: I just love these masks! They make me feel like I’m going to some grand party (let’s face it, I’m usually just in my pyjamas watching Asian Dramas!) and I really love the purple colour. I’d previously enjoyed the Dress Code Blue mask, and I was really looking forward to this one. This gave me the best brightening results out of all the masks within this series. The fit was lovely and the mask lasted a long while for me without drying out. The price is extra lovely, just $2 plus tax each, in Canadian dollars! I had picked up a box of 10, so I think I’m good for a long while, but I would certainly repurchase these again in the future.

So there you have it, sheetmask reviews, albeit a bit late! I won’t be doing another of these for a few weeks as I will be travelling but I’m sure there will be plenty more to blog about!

Disclaimer: I purchased most of these and they are not sponsored products. All thoughts and opinion are honest, and my own. I am not any kind of skincare expert, and am simply exploring products in search of my holy grail products.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

4 thoughts on “Sheetmask Reviews – August 1-22, 2016

  1. The Illi and mediheal sheetmasks look very exciting bc I have a lot of redness in my face too. I’m going to put them on buying list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

