Bi-Weekly Mask Review · Review · Sheet Masks

Bi-Weekly Sheetmask Reviews – July 18-31, 2016

As someone whose skin cannot handle 1) sheetmasking daily and 2) trying too many sheetmasks at once, I’ve decided to do a bi-weekly digest of masks, in order to review their results, and so I can keep track of what is or isn’t working for me!

July 18 - July 31 New Masks
July 18 – July 31 New Masks

So over the last 2 weeks, I tried 5 new masks while using tried-and-trusted masks in between.

The Face Shop Longang Mask
The Face Shop Longan Mask

Who & What: The Face Shop Real Nature Longan Mask
Purpose: According to Koreadepart, it is to provide rich nutrients to the skin to create healthy, animated skin.
Stars: 4/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: During a buy 10 get 5 free sale, I split the purchase of a variety of The Face Shop masks with someone. My first gripe about buying these within a retail storefront in Canada, was that the descriptions were largely the same and nothing clearly separated the variety of flavours with their uses and benefits. I guess we should have read the ingredients lists first.

Overall, I haven’t been impressed with the masks, but at the very least, they haven’t broken me out. This mask in particular was heavily perfumed and didn’t do much more than moisturize my skin for a fairly short time. I did mention in my short IG review that this may have made my jaw itchy, but the sensation disappeared and my face was fine by morning.

The Face Shop Character Mask in Honey
The Face Shop Character Mask in Honey

Who & What: The Face Shop Character Mask in Honey
Purpose: Moisturize the face
Stars: 2/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: This mask seriously disappointed me. Poor fit, poor fragrance, poor results. I did receive this free with purchase at The Face Shop during the holidays, but I honestly didn’t expect the mask to be like this. I don’t think it’s really my face shape, but there’s something really wrong with being able to fit 3 fingers on both sides of the mask before reaching my ear. The essence did not fully absorb into my skin. It felt like a waste of time more than anything else.

L'Herboflore Pear Hourishing Hydromask
L’Herboflore Pear Nourishing Hydromask

Who & What: L’Herboflore Pear Nourishing Hydromask
Purpose: Nourish and hydrate. Pear extract, vitamins A, B, C, aloe, hyaluronic acid, wow!
Stars: 8/10
Repurchase: Yes

Comments: This was my first ever L’Herboflore mask and it was fantastic. Where have these been all my life? The fit was amazing, the material was thin, and this smelled divine. The mask was soaked in essence and lasted for ages. I even put it on my arms and legs after. This WAS a slightly pricier mask so I didn’t want to waste it!

My face was left brightened and hydrated, with reduced redness in the cheek area. I have a few different flavours to try, but would very likely buy these again, or try even more varieties!

You can purchase these here at Shop Chuusi.

Etude House I Need You Lemon Mask
Etude House I Need You Lemon Mask

Who & What: Etude House I Need You Lemon Mask
Purpose: Brighten the skin
Stars: 3/10
Repurchase: No

Comments: I had high hopes for this mask. The fit was awkward especially around the eyes (much too small for me) and the scent was too similar to lemon cleaning products. There was a decent amount of essence left, but this was tacky on my face after removing the mask so I never used the remaining essence. I did not feel that this significantly brightened my complexion, and hydration effects were fairly minimal. Overall, I’ve definitely tried other masks that did much better in both hydration and brightening the face, at a similar price point.

Scinic Snail Matrix Essence Mask
Scinic Snail Matrix Essence Mask

Who & What: Scinic Snail Matrix Essence Mask
Purpose: Hydrate, Nourish, and increase skin elasticity
Stars: 7/10
Repurchase: Maybe

Comments: This was my one of my first ever snail mask and the fit was excellent for me. Material was thin and the mask was soaked in essence, with enough left over for a second application. I ended up using the remaining essence after work the next day. There is alcohol, and fragrance in this mask, and snail essence is actually the 6th ingredient. I read online that some people suffered from irritation and redness, and that the mask got hot on their face. Luckily for me, that didn’t happen.

I did leave the mask on for longer than I intended since I fell asleep, but the mask was still relatively damp when I took it off. My skin didn’t feel much firmer though, so I’m not sure it works well for elasticity. It did, however, brighten and hydrate my skin! The only reason I’m not sure whether I’d like to repurchase it, is because I’d love to try a variety of other ones to see how their effects compare if snail were the star ingredient! But it being 6th on the list in this mask, I’m not sure it really is a ‘star’ just yet.

So there you have it, my first bi-weekly review of sheetmasks! I already have the masks chosen for the next two weeks and can’t wait to try them!

Have you tried any of these, or have masks to recommend for me to try? Have a happy day, my lovelies!

Disclaimer: I purchased most of these and they are not sponsored products. All thoughts and opinion are honest, and my own. I am not any kind of skincare expert, and am simply exploring products in search of my holy grail products.

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

2 thoughts on “Bi-Weekly Sheetmask Reviews – July 18-31, 2016

  1. I love this new series & the easy-to-read format! Thanks for sharing this with us 🙂

    I bought the Face Shop masks, but haven’t used them yet….A little hesitant to use them now that I’ve read your reviews here. I would like to try L’Herboflore though.

    Look forward to seeing your next batch!

    Like

    1. Awww thank you so much, Tiffany! You may like the Face Shop masks if you don’t hold a high standard to them. Hopefully, you will find the fit better! I just don’t like that they didn’t indicate the differences…either that, or they all just have fragrance and just do the same thing. Who knows?

      Like

Leave a Reply

