Review · Samples · Skin18.com

Reviewer’s Package from Skin18.com

In terms of reviews, so far I’ve been offering my thoughts and opinions via my blog and Instagram for just a few short months, and in a largely informal manner. When I saw that Skin18.com was recruiting beauty bloggers and reviewers, I jumped at the chance and applied. They were kind enough to choose me, and shipped out my package on May 22. I received it about 2.5 weeks later.

Be sure to check out their website, where they are always hosting giveaways and special discounts! Not only that, they have tons of different varieties in masks and many of these, you only need to pay shipping! How awesome is that? Also check out their IG @skin18com and the new @skin18com_usa for their latest products and frequent giveaways!

Skin18.com First Reviewer's Package
I received a total of 5 items, including three sheet masks, 1 nose cleansing strip, and 1 sample serum.

I received these items in a Reviewer’s Package from Skin18.com in exchange for my honest opinions and thoughts. All opinions are my own, except for one particular product that was more suited for my mom.ย 

Without further ado, let’s check out these products! I tried to share all my thoughts and opinions, so be prepared for a longer read!

The very first product that I tried, was the Mirum Fresh Fruit Acai Berry Real Nature Mask Pack. You can find it here on Skin18.com.

Mirum Fresh Fruit Acai Berry Mask
Mirum Fresh Fruit Acai Berry Mask

The mask had a fresh, fruity scent that wasn’t overpowering. It was meant for “Vitality and Freshness”; to provide the skin with luster and softness. A thicker cotton sheet with a gel-like essence, this mask was a pretty good fit! It was soaked in essence, although there wasn’t much left in the packet. No matter, this mask lasted me 30 minutes before I took it off.

This mask moisturized and reduced a little bit of redness around the cheeks. It wasn’t sticky at all, and while I didn’t necessarily feel ‘vitality’, I definitely felt refreshed. There are many varieties of this particular line of masks, and I certainly want to try the others! I gave this a 7.5/10 though, because I feel like sheet masks should hydrate at a very base level. I ended up layering a sleeping mask on top (a thin layer), and woke up with skin that wasn’t very different compared to the usual.

A few days later, I tried the Lomilomi 7 Skin Scheduler Mask in the Thursday Edition. During this time, from day 1, I actually also started using the Ben & Sera Anti-Aging Serum, which is recommended for those over 40. While I’m all about prevention, my mom tried this as well, and loved it so much that I let her continue to use it.

Lomilomi Mask and Ben & Sera Serum
Lomilomi 7 Skin Scheduler Mask in the Thursday’s Selection, Cucumber Bouncing Mask. Also, Ben & Sera’s Anti-Aging Serum.

First, let’s talk sheetmasks: This mask was chock-full of essence and a light, refreshing cucumber scent! Let’s highlight the eye area; I hate when the masks are too close in the eye area because it irritates the eye, but this mask fit incredibly well. It lasted over 30 minutes for me, and was still very wet. My skin was left moisturized and there was a firming sensation. Before I posted my reviewย on IG, I purposely waited until the next morning to see the results. My skin was SO NICE the next morning! I would rate this an 8/10, as it is a little bit on the pricier side ($5.50 USD for regular price) and quite honestly, I’m not quite at the stage where I feel that I need to frequently be using firming masks.

However, I’m loving this 7 day series, in theory anyway. I’ve seen over multi-day series masks but usually the masks are all the same, citing changes after committing to however many days the series is for. Some, of course, are different. The LomiLomi 7 Skin Scheduler Mask series has a mask with a different function each day, which is incredibly thoughtful if you’re someone who can definitely use all those different functions for your sheetmasking needs. I say ‘in theory’, because my skin cannot handle sheet-masking every single day without feeling overwhelmed and freaking out. When I choose my own masks on a weekly basis, though, I do try to choose them so they serve different functions such as hydration, brightening, or cleansing. This entire series sounds amazing, though I would likely take 2 weeks to use them up, instead of just 1 week.

The Ben & Sera serum…first, let’s address the syringe. I’ve seen a lot of reviewers say that they ‘lost’ their product as it squired right out. I agree that the packaging really isn’t the greatest. I was probably a bit overzealous when I used this, and put the excess into a little clean container that I had on hand, then realized after reading other reviews that I wasn’t overzealous; others had similar problems. I got the grasp of it the next day though, and used this day and night for 3 days. It’s a slightly viscous serum and a little goes a long way.

The serum is moisturizing, but for me, that was the extent of what I experienced. Although I am a believer in prevention, I also believe that if I use too many anti-aging products too early…well, what will I use in the future when I actually need it? This serum was recommended for those over 40 years of age. My mom secretly stole some and loved it, so I gifted it to her to use instead. She can feel the firming effects and loves using this day and night; it works well under the light make up she uses (typically cc cream or bb cushion application only).

Since the serum that she’s using at the moment is much more expensive, ย she’s considering getting a full size to use for a longer period of time. You can find the serum here. Be sure you check out the link, as there is a lot more information provided on the site. It does say that it works for brightening of the skin, but that may be something that will take a longer time to become noticeable.

Finally, last night I tried the last two products, one after another. First was the Luke Charcoal Nose Cleansing Strip, followed by the Royal Skin Animalian Mask (Sheep).

Luke Nose Cleansing Strip and Royal Skin Animalian Mask
Luke Charcoal Nose Cleansing Strip & Royal Skin Animalian Mask in Sheep. I want to RAVE about these products, but they have a couple of cons.

I have SUPER mixed feelings about the Charcoal Nose Cleansing Strip! The short answer is, this strip works, and works incredibly well as a single-strip product. So why do I have mixed feelings, you ask? It’s because this smells so strange! I don’t know if it’s the charcoal scent or what, but to me, it really was not pleasant. Not only that, but as my fingers were wet, this smeared a bit of grey on my skin that was a bit sticky. I waited the 12 minutes for it to dry then peeled it off. It wasn’t painful, which is a HUGE plus, but I’m not sure I can handle that scent on a regular basis. Right now, I am using another nose pore cleansing kit that doesn’t require this peeling method, which is not recommended at a high frequency or for those with sensitive skin. I guess I’ve been spoiled by similar products that are mostly unscented, or have pleasant, fruity scents. But, it works! If you are looking for something like this, get it here!

After using the smelly nose strip (haha) I used the Sheep Animalian Mask by Royal Skin. Although I have a few character masks in my stash, I actually haven’t used any yet, so this was my very first one! Skin18.com’s site actually lists that they tested this for discoloration by soaking it in hot water for 30 minutes then squeezing the mask. I don’t know if that’s how all companies test their character masks, but it certainly feels like they went the extra mile!

The mask was long, and narrow. I don’t think I have a super wide face, but this was the most narrow mask I’ve ever used. It was strange, because it was so long! The forehead was covering my hair, the chin area was long, and even the nose piece was long! But on either side, I had never had a mask so narrow! A lot of hydrating masks have a brightening effect for me, so I was seriously concerned about a ‘sheetmask tan line’! The eye area, however, was HUGE which was great.

Fit aside, this mask was thin and soft, with plenty of essence. The scent was fresh and not overwhelming, a big plus for me! I took a couple of pictures but I’m not one to share sheetmask selfies, so you’ll have to use your imagination. That didn’t stop me from sending pictures to my boyfriend and sister, with the caption ‘Baaaaaaa!’ If you look straight at me, you can’t see the poor fit at the sides. I especially loved the little red cheeks!

After about 30 or so minutes, I removed the mask. It was still quite wet except the strip between the nose and lips. What blew me away was, despite the little red cheeks, the redness of my own cheeks was greatly reduced! It wasn’t sticky at all, which was another plus. This does contain witch hazel and aloe, for those whom are sensitive to such key ingredients. Overall, the mask was fun, but the fit just doesn’t do it for me.

So there you have it, a complete review of all 5 products! Are you guys still with me here? If you are, let me know if you have any questions, or have any items you’ve tried, or would love to try!

Thank you, once again, Skin18.com, for providing these products for my honest review!

Follow me on social media!
Instagram: @teddybearbeauty
Twitter: @myteddybeauty

5 thoughts on “Reviewer’s Package from Skin18.com

  1. hi Fiony! I am sooooo lovin your photos, it looks so professional. what camera do you use for photo taking? and you seem to have a good lighting too! ah how I wish to have my own set up for my product photos hahaha. I love your post, it looks clean! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks for swinging by, Finny! I’m glad you think my photos are professional, because they are hundred percent taken on my Samsung S6 cell phone with no lighting aside from natural sunlight!!! I wish I have my own set up but that’s not something I am ready to invest in right now. Thank you so much! โค

      Like

Leave a Reply

