Cleansers · Review · Scinic

Review: Scinic Honey Banana Cleansing Foam

I received the Scinic Honey Banana Cleansing Foam in my February Beauteque BBbag. I was super excited when I saw this in the spoiler email, because…well, honey!

IG-Scinic Honey Banana Cleanser
I’ve tried this cleanser with my Clarisonic Mia 2 and just by hand without notable difference.

First thoughts: I have a love-hate relationship with this cleanser.

Beauteque.com’s Price: $12.99
Testerkorea.com’s Price: krw 7,000 (approx $6.04)
Unable to find on other sites: RoseRoseShop, Jolse, Wishtrend, or Amazon

Description on the tube:
(Front) The rich moisture cleansing foam keeps skin moisturized and smooth with its nourishing extracts of honey and banana.
(Back) Nourishing and moisturizing cleansing foam that leaves skin smooth and moisturized.

Instructions: Dispense an adequate amount and fully lather. Gently massage the skin and wash off with lukewarm water.

Scinic Honey Banana Cleansing Foam
Scinic Honey Banana Cleansing Foam

Ingredients: Water, Myristic Acid, Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Lauric Acid, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glyceryl Stearate, Cocamide MEA, PEG-100 Stearate, Musa Sapientum (Banana) Fruit Extract, Honey Extract, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Fruit Extract, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Extract, Butylene Glycol, Polyquaternium-7, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, BHT, Disodium EDTA, 12-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Parfum

I’m not any expert in reading and understanding ingredients, but there are a lot of fruit extracts, which I take as a good sign. Unfortunately, according to CosDNA, there are a few ingredients which may cause acne (in red). My skin is not usually overly sensitive, and I’ve been using this for about 2 weeks without any signs of irritation or breakouts.

Eyeliner Test
Left: Make Up Forever Aqua Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner. Right: Kat Von D Tattoo Liner

Even though I use this as a regular cleanser, I thought I should put it to the test against some make up products. I don’t typically wear make up, but if and when I do, I usually have one or both of these eyeliners on. While I usually use eye-makeup remover and avoid applying regular cleanser to the eyes, this is a good enough test.

The foam is a bit denser than I expected, but then again, this is not a pump bottle. I guess I didn’t know what to expect. You can definitely smell the banana (less so the honey). The scent does not linger for very long.

Emulsifying stage
Added some water to emulsify. The eyeliner is disappearing.

Although it says to fully lather, the instructions don’t explicitly say to add water. I usually wet my face a little before applying this because it allows the product to immediately lather up. In this case, I wet my fingers before lathering up the product. The foam lathers up easily with water, and I did not apply any more pressure than I normally do when using facial cleansers.

Final Cleansing Result
Final Result: A hint of the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner left.

After rinsing, you can see just a hint of the Kat Von D Tattoo liner left. Not too bad, if I use this just to remove sunscreen from my face, and this does not actually claim to remove make up.

So why do I have such a love-hate relationship with this product? It doesn’t break me out, it lathers up fine, it cleans what I need it to, and it smells pretty good too. But what I cannot stand, is that in the rinsing stage this leaves my skin with a bit of ‘squeak’. I hate the feeling of ‘squeaky clean’ on my fingers or my face, and this does exactly that, although not as badly as some cleansers that I have tried (and never gone back to using, such as The Face Shop’s Herb Day 365 Peach Cleansing Foam and Clinique’s Foaming Sonic Facial Foam).

I do have dry skin, and this is a personal pet peeve for me. But despite that, even if I run around for a few minutes without applying anything to my face after cleansing this does not leave my face dry or tight. Not even if I get lazy and use this in the shower! I’m a bit confused about that ^_^” and I do actually love the feeling that this leaves my skin. It is soft and smooth.

Final thoughts: I will continue using this, but I likely will not repurchase.

I haven’t found my holy grail cleanser yet. If you have dry skin, what would you recommend, as a regular, daily cleanser?

Disclaimer: I did not receive this as a sponsored product and all thoughts are my own. I am not any kind of skincare expert, and am simply exploring products in search of my holy grail products.

2 thoughts on “Review: Scinic Honey Banana Cleansing Foam

Leave a Reply

